Effortless Meatball Sandwich

This will be a very quick post about what Ryan ate for dinner last night, because I took some pictures.  I am very sad because I lost my natural lighting during the toasting process!  But it was good nonetheless.

Also, two things I already knew, but of which I am now hyper-aware:

  1. don’t photograph on tinfoil
  2. don’t photograph on neon blue plates

Anyway, in four pictures, here’s how to make a boy a meatball sub with random leftovers.  By the way, making a giant meatball sandwich for your boyfriend during an important sporting event is the easiest way to achieve “awesome” girlfriend status.  Which really comes in handy if there’s something on Bravo you want to DVR and have to delete a few episodes of Mythbusters to make that happen…

Here’s what you are going to need:

  • Meatballs
  • Tomato sauce, homemade leftovers or jarred
  • Provolone cheese (or any other Italian cheese that melts well)
  • A crusty sandwich roll (a ciabatta roll would also be excellent)
  • Basil, if you’ve got it

Okay!  Onto the quick method, which I’ve supplemented with some photos:

  1. Warm up meatballs in simmering sauce.
  2. Preheat oven or toaster oven, or don’t…
  3. Find a bun, and slice it open, but leave the spine in tact.

    This is an Organic Sandwich Roll, from the Whole Foods self-serve bakery thing. It's pretty good.

  4. Place the meatballs inside of the sandwich roll, dumping any extra sauce on top.  We didn’t have much sauce, because we were working with skimpy leftovers.

    This looks pretty good.

  5. Place a slice or two (or ten) of provolone cheese on top of the warm filling.

    Why is cheese so good? For serious.

  6. Wrap sandwich in foil and place in warm oven for toastier bread and gooier cheese.  Or don’t, if you’re lazy.
  7. Add basil.
  8. Try to take a picture but know that it’s too late, you’ve lost the sunlight, and Ryan’s really hungry and Game 7 of the NBA Finals is on and you’ve got to get dinner on the table.

    Good Sandwich. Bad Picture. Hungry Boy.

That’s all!  Told you it would be quick.  Oh, in gross, semi-related tomato sauce and meatball news, Spaghetti-Os just recalled, like, everything it makes, due to “underprocessing”.  This is why we cook our own food, people.  This is why we do not buy ground beef in a can.

Comments
11 Responses to “Effortless Meatball Sandwich”
  1. Oh please invite me to that dinner party:) You are always such a delightful read…I am sure I have said this before, but I so look forward to your posts. You are a natural my dear! Great looking sandwich!!!

  2. Jessie says:

    They love it. My boyfriend is the same way. Meat on bread with cheese? Unbeatable. I tried giving him a veggie burger… bad idea… mine is still in “caveman” mode as for food

    Jessie

  3. Way to go for scoring awesome girlfriend points! I have found that a big slab of ribs or a hearty burger does the trick too. Or maybe a chocolate cupcake. 😉

  4. HoneyB says:

    I love a meatball sub! Looks great to me!

  5. Good thing I never liked spaghettio’s! I love your post; meatball sandwiches are my fave!

  6. Ugh.. under processed? That’s disturbing! On a more happier note, I’m sure you hit the jackpot with the boyfriend… yesterday I left my husband and his friends to fend for themselves and went shopping while the game was on. Well… I did make a couple of appetizers atleast for them!

  7. Monet says:

    My sweet friend,
    I sometimes wish I ate meat…especially when you post warm and cheesy pictures of a delicious meatball sub. I hope you have a wonderful trip and take lots more beautiful pictures!

  8. Oh, now that looks just yummy. I was just envisioning spending a day sitting on the beach devouring a meatball sub, but as tomorrow doesn’t look like very beachy weather, I’ll have to come up with another dream sequence involving meatballs and provolone. Hmmm…

    Have a great time in Miami with your family!

    • Lauren says:

      Obviously, you should make crostini-meatball sliders, which I want to make so badly I might throw a dinner party to which only I am invited.

  9. Mom says:

    Nice sandwich! Leftovers are the true test of creativity…………..and you have passed with flying colors.

  10. jenna says:

    thank god i never sank to the spaghetti- os low.

    your sammy looks yummers.

Say something!

