Peanut Butter & Employment Sandwiches

The good news is that I’m still alive and well, eating bananas and peanut butter.  The bad news is, I’m eating bananas and peanut butter, all day, every day.  That’s right, folks, I’m a working girl.  (Except I don’t take a ferry to work, I take a freeway.)

Oh, just a banana on his way to work. No big deal.

Lunch of champions.

Well, a few weeks ago, I was blessed with an amazing job opportunity.  It’s pretty sweet.  Actually, I’m beyond stoked.  I found a job that wholly reflects who I am and what interests me, and I know that’s a rarity, and I won’t take it for granted, I swear.  I got a job that allows me to use my brain, to be creative, and to go to the farmers’ market, plan menus, and eat lots of blueberries.  The cornerstone of the company is a commitment to organic ingredients and sustainable practices, and I’m so proud to be a part of that.  Dream come true.  But oh, how quickly did Lauren’s Little Kitchen go from a full-functioning restaurant to a dark and dusty place where dirty dishes linger for days and days.  I mean, it’s not that I haven’t been cooking, because I have.  Just, um, a lot of egg and cheese sandwiches.

Also, I work with a bunch of people who are amazing chefs.  It’s absurd.  I like to watch.  And eat stuff.  Like this:

One perk of my job is that real chefs are around, offering to cook for me. This is a "thrown together" salad of sunflower, broccoli, and onion sprouts, heirloom tomatoes, grilled eggplant, squash, and mushrooms, mixed baby greens, and chiptole-marinated flank steak--- like, ten ounces of it.

So, you might ask, why do you eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches if you have a job where amazing food is totally around?  The problem is, I get hungry for lunch around noon.  So does the rest of Los Angeles.  Which means all the amazing food I want to eat is being sold.  And I have to wait for lunch hour to be very much over to have my share.  So, I can eat like a queen at four in the afternoon, or not be insane, and have a meal when I need it.

I’m sure these salmon tacos were worth the late afternoon wait, though:

I feel like these were invented with my parents in mind.

I want to post this before I disappear again.  I swear I’ll be back really soon, as there are steak sandwiches to be made!

Comments
9 Responses to “Peanut Butter & Employment Sandwiches”
  1. You get to go to the farmer’s market and eat blueberries? Heaven!

  2. jenna says:

    congrats love, we need to catch up.

    oh and my banana picture from the time i left them on the toaster totally beats yours.

    hahaha

    love you

  3. Jessie -- The Messie Kitchen says:

    You’re BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! For now.

  4. Monet says:

    Yes! Warmest congratulations. You so deserve this love, and I’m so happy that you are able to combine work with something that you love. I have missed seeing you around this blog world though! I love peanut butter and jelly and often choose a simple sammie over more elaborate fare, so no blaming you there! Much love!

  5. Kelsey says:

    I always take my lunch to work, but I have to say.. that taco, YUM!

  6. Margie says:

    I want to come live with you…..
    Everyday sounds like a new adventure…
    Enjoy and come to NY and give me some cooking lessons!!!!
    xoxo,
    Aunt Margie

  7. Mom says:

    Congratulations on the great new job! I think I am more excited that you. Now that both my girls are gainfully employed, I think I might retire. Oh, sorry, I already did that. Also, what is the law in California on bananas in the front seat and do they need to be seat belted?

  8. Oh Lauren, I’m so happy for you – You found your dream job! Sounds like you work with an awesome group of people and are utterly infatuated with the whole thing. I know how it is sometimes, slacking on the cooking because other bigger, exciting things are happening in your life, trust me. But it seems like you’re so lucky having those talented chefs at hand – and what awesome meals! – and still eating well. SO glad to see you back at it on your lovely blog. Just because you’re a fancy, high-falutin’ pro-blogger now, don’t forget about your drooling readers and biggest fans 😉

Say something!

